The Journey

During the last few years I’ve read about people dramatically changing their lives by leaving behind their comfortable lives in search of something meaningful. While I read those personal accounts, something inside of me wanted to do the same but I wasn’t sure how it was going to manifest. Slowly and subconsciously, my life started pointing me in a direction that would allow me to experience what I needed in order to feel complete. Now I find myself less than two weeks away from leaving Arizona to go work on organic farms. It has taken me years, maybe a lifetime to get to this point of departure, but what people (including myself) focus on are the logistics. That’s what held me back for so long. What do we do with the house, the car, the kids, the STUFF? How does all that work while I travel? It’s overwhelming so we just sit back and say, ‘I could never do that.’

To get from point A, the moment at which one has the initial thought to take a journey, to point B, the day of departure, takes time to figure out. I knew I couldn’t just get up and leave my job, my house, my stuff, and although I didn’t have a plan, I stayed open to ideas. Going to work on organic farms is where my journey will begin but yours can begin anywhere. We don’t all have the same plans but what’s important is that we are open to the journey that is calling us. I can only tell you what I plan on doing but I truly don’t have a clue as to what will happen. All I know is that this radical shift is what I need right now, but who knows, maybe I’ll be back in a month after I realize that I really don’t like working on a farm or growing my own food. I seriously hope that’s not the case but the point is that it’s about the journey, not the outcome. If I come back in a month, I’ll have some answers. If I return in a year, I’ll some answers. It’s really a win-win situation.

There’s no doubt that I have been working towards this for some time but more recently I’ve noticed a shift in my outlook. I’m experiencing what I already knew; the journey doesn’t begin the moment I pull out of the driveway. The journey has already begun. I am looking at situations as integral parts of the puzzle. I’ve always believed that every event is neutral and that I decide how to react and for the most part I try to live like that. However, this journey has already allowed me to live in the moment more than ever so I know that it has already begun.

I only mention this because so many people are telling me how much they wish they could do something similar-leave everything and take a journey. I’d like to offer insight as to what I see already happening and present the possibility that maybe there is no journey to prepare for? What if your journey has already begun and you just haven’t realized it? Maybe instead of sitting back and telling yourself you could never take a journey like mine, tomorrow you wake up, accept that you are on a journey, and look at life a little bit differently.

About Carlos Bill

Carlos is a dynamic public school teacher and Principal with professional development experience in 2nd language acquisition, educational technology, and classroom management. He also is Co-Founder of Travel to Learn, an organization dedicated to teaching people how to live a truly regenerative lifestyle with respect to health, relationships, and the natural environment. TTL does this through public speaking engagements, workshops, and travel programs.
This entry was posted in Education, Health/Healing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Journey

  1. lisa says:

    AMEN! BLESS You and your “journey” Carlos.

  2. dad says:

    … one life… many journeys…
    some you must travel alone…
    looking back now…
    only one remains for me…
    remembered often…
    never to be forgotten…
    my journey with Eva, Cristina and you…
    we were not meant to travel alone…

Leave a Reply

