Bring on the Learning Revolution

Most people think that if you kiss the Blarney Stone, in Blarney Castle, Ireland, you are granted the gift of good luck. Actually, the stone is meant to bring you the gift of more eloquent speech. I think it’s safe to say that if 300,000 people are kissing a stone about 12 inches x 8 inches, you have a good chance of getting something else. Well, I’m happy to report that I didn’t have to see a doctor after kissing the stone and unfortunately, I haven’t been blessed with more eloquent speech either.

However, I did find someone who eloquently explains the problems with education. I don’t know if he has kissed the Blarney Stone or not, but Sir Ken Robinson does understand what’s happening in education. While I listened I felt as if he was taking the ideas right out of my mind. My experiences in education have been frustrating and sometimes I feel like I am giving up because I don’t agree with so many facets of the system. Other times I feel ashamed that I’m leaving the kids and not fighting anymore for them. I know I’ve made a difference but how long does one go on fighting a system that is broken?
Some of you may be familiar with TED, but if you aren’t, check it out. Sir Ken Robinson has given two speeches that eloquently explain exactly how I feel about education. The first deals with the lack of creativity in schools. The second one explains what’s wrong with education in about 20 minutes. Without being in the ‘trenches’ so to speak, it’s tough to relay what teachers go through year after year but at least now I feel justified in my decisions. Enjoy!

About Carlos Bill

Carlos is a dynamic public school teacher and Principal with professional development experience in 2nd language acquisition, educational technology, and classroom management. He also is Co-Founder of Travel to Learn, an organization dedicated to teaching people how to live a truly regenerative lifestyle with respect to health, relationships, and the natural environment. TTL does this through public speaking engagements, workshops, and travel programs.
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

